top of page
Search
  • clairemorris330

What's Hot in the Wedding World?

Updated: Feb 27

Let me start this out by saying that weddings are about you and your partner. No matter what is on “trend”, the only important thing is that YOU are happy with YOUR wedding. With that being said, the wedding industry introduces, and says goodbye to, dozens of trends each year. Let’s take a look at what’s in style in the wedding world at this moment in time.


Neon Signs


Every couple wants their wedding to be unique, and I’m sure that the first couple that thought to include a neon sign at their wedding never expected it to become so popular. Neon signs can be shaped into many shapes and words, often being used to spell out the couple’s last name. Neon signs are mainly seen at receptions, often as a backdrop to the newlywed’s table, but has been seen sparingly at ceremonies, as well. Personally, I think that neon signs are a great addition. While a lot of wedding experts, or people who call themselves experts on TikTok, think that neon signs are a fleeting trend, I think they are timeless and can be made to match countless wedding themes!


Mismatched Bridesmaid’s Dresses


Over the years, it has been understood that being a bridesmaid means being “matchy matchy” with a bunch of other women. We are quickly seeing a decline in this trend, as many brides opt to let their wedding party choose their own dresses, given a parameter like color.


There are a few different variations to this trend, but ultimately the choice of how to execute this is up to the person getting married. To make this trend work, you may want to choose one of three options; the same dress in different colors, different dresses in the same color, or different dresses in different colors within the same color family.


I am torn on this trend. As a type-A bride myself, I love the cohesive look of the same dress across the board. However, as a bridesmaid, I prefer being allowed to choose my own dress. It is nice to be able to choose a dress that I know I will like the look of, as well as feel comfortable in.


Guest Color Palettes


I touched on this idea of a guest color palette in a previous blog post, but I think it is worth noting again as a wedding trend. Recently, couples have been seen asking their guests to dress according to a certain color family to their wedding. This is done for aesthetic purposes and cohesive photos.


Personally, I am not a fan of this trend. I do not think it is right to demand your guests wear something that they may have to go out and purchase for your event, on top of traveling to your wedding and bringing you a gift, just for the purpose of good photos. I understand that this day is all about the couple, but it is important to be mindful and respectful of your guests.



As I said, this day is about you and your future spouse and you two deserve to have the wedding of your dreams, so feel free to ignore trends and buck tradition, or follow tradition step-by-step, because at the end of the day, your wedding will be perfect, because you married your person!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Here's to the Future!

Hi everyone! Welcome (back) to the blog. Professor V says that this is a post for reflection, so here we go... I have learned a lot while...

Comentários


bottom of page